Academic Year

This page gives you all the important dates during the academic year 2017-2018. The Calendar Academic Year 2018-2019 is placed on the bottom of the page.

Academic Year 2017-2018

Lectures of the academic year 2017-2018 started September 4th, 2017.

An academic year is divided into six educational periods. The 'Calendar academic year' contains more information about the academic year (e.g. exam and holiday weeks) and can be downloaded here:

Public Holidays 2017-2018
College week Day Date Holiday
Week 17 Monday 25 December 2017 First Christmas Day
Week 17 Tuesday 26 December 2017 Second Christmas Day
Week 18 Monday 01 January 2018 New Years Day
Week 30 Friday 30 March 2018 Good Friday
Week 30 Sunday 01 April 2018 Easter Sunday
Week 31 Monday 02 April 2018 Easter Monday
Week 34 Friday 27 April 2018 King's Birthday
Week 35 Saturday 05 May 2018 Liberation Day
Week 36 Thursday 10 May 2018 Ascencion Day
Week 37 Sunday 20 May 2018 Whit Sunday
Week 38 Monday 21 May 2018 Whit Monday
Registration for courses 2017-2018
Period Final registration date Courses with maximum
1 13 August 2017 06 August 2017
2 01 October 2017 24 September 2017
3 10 December 2017 03 December 2017
4 21 January 2018 14 January 2018
5 18 February 2018 11 February 2018
6 15 April 2018 08 April 2018

New MSc students: Contact your study-advisor to discuss your program and different final registration regulations in the first period.

Registration for (resit)exams 2017-2018
Period Final registration date
1 08 October 2017
2 03 December 2017
3 21 January 2018
4 04 March 2018
5 22 April 2018
6 17 June 2018
Resit exams February 21 Januari 2018
Resit exams August 29 July 2018

Attention: In period 3, 4 and 6 exams are spread over the full period. However registration is still required. 

Attention: The dates mentioned above are all Sundays. The final dates when the Student Service Desk can help you with any registration problems is 2 days earlier on Friday.

Graduation 2017-2018

Master (MSc) & Bachelor (BSc): The university has ‘automatic graduation’. This means that when your last (sufficient) grade has been entered in the Student Information System (in your approved study contract), it will automatically be determined that you have passed the final examination in the programme. This will be approved 11 times a year by the examination committee.

Graduation Schedule MSc 2017-2018 and

Graduation Schedule BSc 2017-2018.

The MSc Graduation Ceremonies are scheduled to take place in the Aula of Wageningen University, Generaal Foulkesweg 1, Wageningen.

The BSc Graduation Ceremonies are scheduled to take place in Orion, Bronlaan 1, Wageningen.   

The Bachelor Graduation Ceremonies will take place on:
Wednesday 1 November 2017 Life Sciences: Biology (BBI), Animal Sciences (BDW) and Plant Sciences (BPW)
Thursday 2 November 2017 Social Sciences: Management and Consumer Studies (BBC), Communication Sciences (BCW), Economics and Governance (BEB), Health and Society (BGM), and International Development Studies (BIN)
Wednesday 8 November 2017 Environmental Sciences: Forest and Nature Conservation (BBN), Soil, Water, Atmosphere (BBW), International Land and Water Management (BIL), Landscape Architecture and Planning (BLP), Environmental Sciences (BMW) and Tourism (BTO)
Thursday 9 November 2017 Technology & Nutrition: Biosystems Engineering (BAT), Biotechnology (BBT), Food Technology (BLT), Molecular Life Sciences (BML) and Nutrition and Health (BVG)

Academic Year 2018-2019

Lectures of the academic year 2017-2018 will start on September 3rd, 2018.

Public Holidays 2018-2019
College week Day Date Holiday
Week 17 Tuesday 25 December 2018 First Christmas Day
Week 17 Wednesday 26 December 2018 Second Christmas Day
Week 18 Tuesday 01 January 2019 New Years Day
Week 33 Friday 19 April 2019 Good Friday
Week 33 Sunday 21 April 2019 Easter Sunday
Week 34 Monday 22 April 2019 Easter Monday
Week 34 Saturday 27 April 2019 King's Birthday
Week 35 Sunday 05 May 2019 Liberation Day
Week 39 Thursday 30 May 2019 Ascencion Day
Week 40 Sunday 09 June 2019 Whit Sunday
Week 41 Monday 10 June 2019 Whit Monday