People of the Environmental Policy Group

The increasing globalisation of environmental issues, debates, practices and governance is reflected in the department's international research and education efforts, as well as in the variety of nationalities of our staff, PhD and MSc students.

People at ENP


Associate professors

Assistant professors

Teachers / research fellows


PhD candidates

Joeri Naus
Judith Floor
Debashish Kundu
Yan Feng
Jin Suqin
Sarah Stattman
Elena Degli Innocenti

External PhD candidates

Anke Brons
Xavier Tezzo
Janice Weatherly
Coco Smits
Frank Wagemans
Steven Adolf
Agnes Yeeting

Honours students

Hanne Wiegel (Junior Researcher 2017)
Anke Brons (Junior Researcher 2016-2017)
Tracey O'Connor (Junior Researcher 2015)
Imke van Asseldonk (Junior Researcher 2014)
Mai Le Quyen (Junior Researcher 2013)
Joeri Naus (Junior Researcher 2011)
Marjanneke Vijge (Junior Researcher 2010)
Robin Smale (Honour student 2013-2014)
Jilllian Student (Honour student 2012-2013)
Rozina Djamiarova (Honour student 2012-2013)

Research associates

Megan Bailey
Assistant Professor Marine Affairs Program
Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada

David Sonnenfeld
Professor of Sociology and Environmental Policy
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry

Hans Bruyninckx
Professor specialized in international and European environmental politics and policy
As from 1 June 2013: Head of the European Environmental Agency (EEA)

Visiting researchers

Nathalia Lima Pinto, visiting PhD researcher from Federal University of Santa Catarina in Brazil (2016-2017)

Michele Dalla Fontana, visiting PhD researcher from Universita Iuav do Venezia in Italy (2016)

Fan Yechao, visiting PhD researcher from Renmin University in China (2015-2016)

Linn Rabe, visiting PhD researcher from Sodertorn University in Sweden (2016)

Joyde Giacominio Martinez, visiting PhD researcher from Universidade Federal do Parana in Brazil (2014-2015)