Soil Science cluster

NRC Opinion by WCSG

Researchers of Wageningen Centre of Sustainability Governance regularly publish opinion articles in the Dutch newspaper, NRC. On this page we share these published pieces in English. Enjoy the read!

We value communication

The Wageningen Centre of Sustainability Governance (WCSG) is an interdisciplinary group of governance scholars committed to contributing knowledge on the design, functioning, and implications of sustainability governance arrangements in the Wageningen domain of food, nature, and environment.

Researchers from the WCSG strive to communicate their work to the public and beyond the walls of scientific journals. Through the NRC (national newspaper), our researchers serve as guest writers across a broad range of environmental, policy, and climate related topics based on their expertise. On occassion, our researchers also feature in interviews as well. Here, we find the opportunity to connect our work to you and the world.

  • May 13, 2022
    Pensions and the planet
    Power, profit, pensions and the planet – we must exercise our right to vote to ensure that powerful pension funds make more sustainable investments, says Verina Ingram.
    Read news item
  • March 17, 2022
    Homebound, despite rising water levels
    Climate change can trigger a large influx of refugees, as expected. But according to Ingrid Boas and colleagues, many people prefer to stay or return home despite the threat of rising sea levels. This NRC article argues for a more nuanced approach to understanding the relationship between environmental and climate change along with the consequences for migration.
    Read news item
  • February 22, 2022
    Tourism cannot go back to the old normal
    The international travel industry is a significant contributor to global climate and environmental problems and plays a key role in the spread of the coronavirus. In their NRC Opinion piece, Machiel Lamers and Jillian Student argue that, before all travel restrictions are lifted, it would be wise for the tourism sector to take a good look at itself.
    Read news item
  • February 22, 2022
    Sometimes, good things happen to forests
    In the news, forests are often discussed solely in light of negative developments such as forest fires or illegal logging. Bas Arts thinks it means that positive developments often remain underexposed. In this NRC Opinion article below, Bas entertains a more hopeful narrative for forests.
    Read news item
  • January 5, 2022
    Let wildfires burn more often
    Wisse van Engelen, a junior researcher at the Environmental Policy group, argues that wildfires cannot be suppressed entirely. Given their important ecological role, Wisse makes a case for allowing wildfires to have free rein under certain circumstances. The following article was published in the NRC Climate Opinion blog on December 13 (2021).
    Read news item
  • November 8, 2021
    A landscape without people can be detrimental to biodiversity
    NRC interviews Bas Verschuuren from the Forest Nature and Policy group at Wageningen University & Research. The following interview was published in the NRC on 14 October 2021. Bas argues that protecting nature on an increasingly populated Earth involves giving a greater role to indenous people.
    View additional info
  • June 25, 2021
    The EU must make agriculture more resilient
    Yannick Buitenhuis, researcher from the Public Administration and Policy group (PAP), recently published a climate opinion piece in the NRC Climateblog (June 15, 2021): The EU must make agriculture more resilient. European government leaders cannot agree on making agriculture more sustainable. According to Yannick serious consequences follow. Read the NRC article here.
    View additional info
  • May 31, 2021
    EU Pulse fishing ban does not limit future innovation
    The NRC opinion article,The EU Pulse fishing ban does not limit future innovation, is now published on the NRC Klimaatblog (Climate blog) since May 26th, 2020. The article details that despite the Court’s decision to reject the request of the Dutch government to overturn the EU ban on pulse fishing, the legal framework provides research derogation to enable innovation, including the pulse. Read this article to learn more.
    Read news item
  • April 8, 2021
    Participation is not intended to overcome resistance - NRC climate opinon by Helena Solman
    ENP researcher Helena Solman recently published a climate opinion piece, Participation is not intended to overcome resistance, in the NRC Climateblog (May 31, 2021). In this article Helena delves into her research expertise on wind energy and public participation. She addresses the question of how citizens can meaningfully influence the agenda around wind energy and argues that there is a need to organize participation differently in the sector.
    Read news item
  • April 1, 2021
    Ingrid Boas features in NRC article on climate migration
    Dr. Ingrid Boas features in NRC article on climate migration Dr. Ingrid Boas, Associate Professor at ENP and an expert in climate mobility and migration is interviewed for a recent NRC article by Marcel aan den Brugh, 'The climate is changing. Do people float adrift or adapt without will?'
    Read news item
  • October 27, 2021
    Boycotting seafood will not save the seas
    The Netflix documentary Seaspiracy ranks in the top 10 most watched films on the streaming platform. Its message is clear, to save the seas we have the stop eating fish. In reality the answer isn’t so simple. Professor Simon Bush, chairholder of the Environmental Policy group, and colleagues respond critically in this opinion piece published on the NRC Climateblog on April 16th, 2021.
    Read news item
  • October 6, 2020
    NRC interviews Annah Zhu: ‘China plants trees the way it builds buildings: quick, efficient and large’
    This NRC Opinon Editioral piece by Paul Luttikhuis (September 2020) is an interview with dr. Annah Zhu regarding her research on China's growing role in global environmental governance. What does environmentalism look like outside of an understanding rooted in the Western world?
    Read news item
  • July 20, 2020
    Big data can easily be misinterpreted- NRC Opinion Piece by Ingrid Boas
    Read news item