Workshop

Kick-off workshop of the Circular Food System network

Circular Food Systems: regional opportunities to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions. Join us in creating common ground on circular food systems!

Organised by Circular Food Systems network
Date

Tue 22 June 2021 until Wed 23 June 2021

Venue Online event

The Circular Food Systems (CFS) network of the Global Research Alliance on agricultural greenhouse gases aims to mobilise scientists and policy-makers to explore the potential of circularity within agricultural systems to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions. During this online kick-off workshop, interested researchers and policy-makers will explore regional opportunities of what a circular food system entails.

Through presentations from across the world and interactive sessions, we will formulate common ground on what a circular food system is and how it can contribute to greenhouse gas mitigation. As a result, objectives and focus points for the network will be defined. Together we will design case studies for further research.  

Call for abstracts

The call for abstracts was open until April 30, 2021.

Registration

The workshop will be held online on the 22nd and 23rd of June, 2021. The workshop consists of a plenary session on the first day and ‘time zone workshops’ on the second day. Registration for the workshop is now open.

Workshop programme

Tuesday June 22nd, 3 hours online session (with breaks)

Welcome: Introduction of the CFS network
Circular Food Systems: opportunities for GHG mitigation
CFS around the world
Working session: finding common ground

Wednesday June 23rd, three online ‘time-zone workshops’

Three similar workshop will be organised in different time zones: the South & North America time zone, Africa and Europe time zone, Asia and Oceania time zone. Participants can choose which session to attend and are welcome to attend multiple or all workshops.

Workshop Asia and Australia: 9:00 – 11:00 UTC+2 (14:00 – 16:00 ICT & WIB / 17:00 – 19:00 AEST / 21:00-23:00 NZST)
Workshop Africa and Europe: 12:00-14:00 UTC+2 (12:00-14:00 SAST & CAT / 13:00 – 15:00 EAT/ 10:00-12:00 WET)
Workshop South and North America: 16:00-18:00 UTC+2 (11:00 – 13:00 ART & BRT / 10:00 – 12:00 EDT / 9:00-11:00 PET/ 7:00 – 9:00 PDT)