Agricultural University and DLO institutes merge to become Wageningen University & Research

On 1 September 1997, the Minister of LNV gave the go-ahead for the merger of the Agricultural University with the Agricultural Research Service. The cabinet announced its support for the formation of a 'powerful Wageningen Knowledge Centre of international stature, the heart of which will be formed by the Agricultural University, the Agricultural Research Department (DLO), which is to be made independent externally, and parts of the practical research.' A year later, the operational merger is a fact and the Agricultural University is called Wageningen University from then on. In 2016, Wageningen University and research institutes were given a single brand name: Wageningen University & Research.