Landscape Architecture and Spatial Planning cluster (LSP)

The LSP cluster studies how deliberate modifications to landscape features or processes contribute to the quality of life. Therewith, we address some of the most urgent societal problems of our time, such as climate change, biodiversity decline, and loss of environmental quality. We believe such problems require a landscape approach, in which we focus on the spatial cohesion and interactions between a broad variety of land use and cover types, the abiotic substrate, the spatial behavior of species, and the plurality of stakeholders. We devise sound and creative solutions, based on empirical analyses, model-based simulations, and ethical and esthetical considerations.


The cluster Landscape Architecture and Spatial Planning consists of the following chair groups:

  • Land Use Planning
  • Landscape Architecture

Research lines

The LSP group addresses three main themes:

  • Climate action, both in terms of mitigation and adaptation. Three subtopics can be distinguished:

    • Urban Climate is about designing urban environments so that adverse effects of climate change are mitigated. (Key project: SOLOCLIM, H2020 MSCA EID, 1.6 mln Euro, 2019-2023; WIMEK CGs: Climate action)
    • Water is about the design, planning and implementation of interventions in large river systems and coastal areas. (Key project: Infrascapes: understanding and designing infrastructure landscapes, RWS, Deltares & TAUW,  358 K Euro, 2018-2022; WIMEK CGs: Climate action, Managing our future biosphere)
    • Energy Transition is about the spatial implications of renewable energy solutions. (Key project: Energy Gardens NL, De Natuur- en Milieu Federaties, 186 Eeuro, 2019-2024 WIMEK CGs: Climate action, Managing our future biosphere)
  • Transitions in the countryside, related to agricultural and nature policies, market developments, climate change and demography. Three subtopics can be distinguished:

    • Securing biodiversity is about devising solutions to halt the decline in biodiversity, such as ecological networks and/or de-intensified agriculture around nature areas. (Key project: Phosphate rights as spatial instrument, WU, 130 K Euro, 2019-2021; WIMEK CGs: Managing our future biosphere)
    • Circular agriculture is about functionality of diverse circular solutions and the spatial instruments to realize their implementation. (Key project: SPLENDID, NWO, 1.1 mln Euro, 2020-2025; WIMEK GCs: Advancing circular systems, Managing our future biosphere)
    • Cultural ecosystem services is about the non-tangible benefits of landscapes and how they are affected by ecological restoration, cultural heritage or agricultural intensification. (Key project: Cultural ecosystem services of Chinese typical landscapes:  Rethinking Non-Material Links between People and their Landscape, funder: -, 2016-2020; WIMEK CGs: Managing our future biosphere)
  • Urban developments & Mobility, related to economic activities, housing, public space and infrastructure. Two subtopics can be distinguished:

    • Modes of governance is about how governmental decentralisation and devolution of traditional public responsibilities (e.g. housing, transport) gives rise to new forms of urban development. (Key project: R-LINK, NWO, 1.4 mln Euro, 2016-2020; WIMEK GCs: Managing our future biosphere)
    • Sustainable and inclusive mobility takes an individual and ethical perspective to understand how, where and why we move.


The cluster has a daily board consisting of the two chairholders, an education coordinator, a research coordinator, the administrator and the secretary. This board meets once a month and takes decisions on staff, expenditures, facilities, education, phds, and acquisition. The entire cluster meets once a month, and part of this meeting is a presentation of the work done by one of the staff members. The chairholders formulate a research vision for their own chairgroup, but ensure that it fits within the commonly agreed LSP vision. All staff members (2 associate profs, 11 assistant profs, 6 lecturers, 4 postdocs, 15 phds, 4 supporting staff) fall under one of the two chairs, with the exception of the administrator.