Four excellent Wageningen theses receive Thesis Award

Published on
March 10, 2017

During the 99th Dies Natalis on March 9th, four students of Wageningen University received the Thesis Award. Justin Tauber was, apart from winning in his domain agrotechnology and food, also the overall winner. The other winners of the Thesis Award are Annemerel Mol, Jorieke Vaanhold and Joëlle Janssen.

During the ceremony in the morning, all winners received their prize from the jury members with supervisors, chair group holders, family and friends present. During the symposium preceding the Dies Natalis of Wageningen University & Research, the overall winner was announced by prof. dr. ir. Pierre de Wit, chair of the jury.

Justin Tauber received 1000 euros and the bronze sculpture of Sjoerd Buisman, the ‘Wageningen tree’, next to the diploma and the judicium with the motivation of the jury.

In total, 34 theses were sent in for the Thesis Award 2016, all written in the academic year 2015-2016.

Justin Tauber wrote his winning thesis for his study in molecular life sciences under the supervision of dr. ir. Joris Sprakel of the chair group Physical chemistry and soft matter. His thesis, titled ‘Dopant dynamics in weak crystals’ was appreciated by the jury because of its original and creative approach and the smart use of computer simulations and algorithms. The insights provided by Justin’s thesis, and the article he wrote about it in a high ranking journal, are a crucial stepping stone to the development of new technologies. Justin just started his PhD with the same chair group where he wrote his thesis, where he is doing research on the breaking of soft polymers like rubber.

The other winners and their subjects are:

Environmental sciences

Annemerel Mol, Environmental Technology

Title thesis: ‘Bioelectro chemical battery’

Supervisor: Sam Molenaar MSc, dr. Ir. Tom Sleutels, dr. Ir. Annemiek ter Heijne; leerstoelhouder: prof. Dr. Ir. Cees Buisman

Social sciences

Jorieke Vaanhold, Economics, Environment and Governance

Title thesis: ‘Price determination in the electricity imbalance market’

Supervisor: dr. Edwin van der Werf; Chair group holder: prof. Dr. Ekko van Ierland

Life sciences

Joëlle Janssen, Nutrition and Health

Title thesis: ‘A new immune regulatory role of isoleucine and valine: Shaping macrophage polarization states’

Supervisor: dr. Vincent de Boer; Chair group holder: prof. dr. Jaap Keijzer

In forming their judgement, the jury paid particular attention to technical and scientific quality, written presentation, applicability in practice and the quality of the research in the academic field in question. The KLV Wageningen Alumni Network donated the prize money.