Remko Uijlenhoet elected a fellow of the American Geophysical Union

Published on
November 20, 2020

Professor Remko Uijlenhoet has been elected as a fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU). The president of the international organisation announced this on 18 November.

Prof. Uijlenhoet is elected fellow thanks to the recognition of his ‘exceptional scientific contributions’ as valued by peers and vetted by section and focus group committees. A maximum of one in a thousand members can be elected each year.

Guest researcher

Remko Uijlenhoet
Remko Uijlenhoet

The honorary title comes shortly after the farewell of Prof. Remko Uijlenhoet as chair holder of the Hydrology and Quantitative Water Management group at Wageningen University & Research in October, and his subsequent appointment as professor of Hydrology at Delft University of Technology. However, he will remain affiliated with WUR as a guest researcher, among others because of his involvement in several ongoing PhD research projects.


Remko Uijlenhoet is enthusiastic about the election: “I am very happy with this recognition of the hydrological research I have been doing over the past decades together with my PhD students and colleagues in Wageningen and elsewhere”. He is referring in particular to their research towards the development of remote sensing techniques to estimate space-time variability of rainfall in collaboration with his former PhD students and current KNMI colleagues Hidde Leijnse and Aart Overeem. “And in addition the subsequent hydrological application thereof with colleagues and students of my former chair group”.

About the American Geophysical Union

The American Geophysical Union is a non-profit organisation of earth, atmospheric, ocean, hydrologic, space, and planetary scientists, consisting of over 62,000 members from 144 countries. AGU is dedicated to promote discovery in earth and space science for the benefit of humanity. Hydrologic sciences, to which Remko Uijlenhoet's field belongs, is one of the four fundamental science areas of the union. The organization's headquarters is located in Washington, D.C.