People of the Environmental Policy Group

The increasing globalisation of environmental issues, debates, practices and governance is reflected in the department's international research and education efforts, as well as in the variety of nationalities of our staff, PhD and MSc students.


Associate Professors

Assistant Professors

Teachers and Research Fellows

Post Docs

PhD Candidates

Research Associates

Jan van Tatenhove
Professor of Marine Governance and Marine Spatial Planning at Innovative Fisheries Management - Center for Blue Governance at the Department of Planning of Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark

Megan Bailey
Assistant Professor Marine Affairs Program
Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada

David Sonnenfeld
Professor of Sociology and Environmental Policy
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry

Hans Bruyninckx
Professor specialized in international and European environmental politics and policy
As from 1 June 2013: Head of the European Environmental Agency (EEA)

Visiting Researchers

Visiting Researchers (2014-2021)

Min Su, visiting PhD researcher, Nanjing Agricultural University (2021)

Jordi Vegas, visiting researcher, Wageningen University (2021)

Romain Weikmans, visiting researcher, Université Libre de Bruxelles (2020)

Jeff Neilsen, visiting researcher, The University of Sydney (2019)

Kate Barclay, visiting researcher, University of Technology Sydney (2019)

Maki Hatanaka and Jason Konefal, visiting researchers, Sam Houston State University, Department of Sociology (2018)

Peter Arbo, visiting Professor from the the Norwegian College of Fishery Science, University of Tromsø – The Arctic University of Norway (2018).

Nathalia Lima Pinto, visiting PhD researcher from Federal University of Santa Catarina in Brazil (2016-2017)

Michele Dalla Fontana, visiting PhD researcher from Universita Iuav do Venezia in Italy (2016)

Fan Yechao, visiting PhD researcher from Renmin University in China (2015-2016)

Linn Rabe, visiting PhD researcher from Sodertorn University in Sweden (2016)

Junior Researchers and Honours Students

Junior Researchers (2019-2021)

Ivo Meijers
Ivo Meijers

Junior Researchers and Honours Students (2012-2020)

Jordi Vegas (Junior Researcher 2019)

Sake Kruk (Junior Researcher 2018)

Maíra van Lier (Junior Researcher 2018)

Mekdelawit Deribe (Junior Researcher 2018)

Hanne Wiegel (Junior Researcher 2017)

Anke Brons (Junior Researcher 2016-2017)

Tracey O'Connor (Junior Researcher 2015)

Imke van Asseldonk (Junior Researcher 2014)

Mai Le Quyen (Junior Researcher 2013)

Joeri Naus (Junior Researcher 2011)

Marjanneke Vijge (Junior Researcher 2010)

Robin Smale (Honour student 2013-2014)

Jilllian Student (Honour student 2012-2013)

Rozina Djamiarova (Honour student 2012-2013)

Communications Staff