Sustainable Soil Management: Soil for Life

MOOC

Sustainable Soil Management: Soil for Life

Learn why soil is very important, how it’s being threatened and what we can do to protect this natural resource so vital to our lives.

Organised by Wageningen University & Research
Registration period

Fri 3 August 2018 until Thu 22 August 2019

Tue 30 April 2019 until Thu 5 December 2019

Date

Tue 4 September 2018 until Thu 12 September 2019

Tue 3 September 2019 until Thu 20 February 2020

Tue 7 January 2020 until Thu 23 July 2020

Location Online
Price Free
Certificate Course materials free, certificate after payment

Content of the course

Soil is the earth’s fragile skin that anchors all life. We depend on soil to build our homes and cities, to grow crops for food and raise livestock, to support transportation and enable recreation. Yet we disregard this crucial and precious resource that lies right under our feet.

This introductory environmental studies course will explore the importance of soil to life on earth, the issues, processes and societal challenges underlying soil degradation – and what can be done to ensure sustainable soil management for the future. The threats to our soil span deforestation, erosion, overgrazing, use of agrochemicals, pollution and climate change. Learn what you can do to make a difference in protecting this vital natural resource.

What you will learn

  • Why soils and sustainable soil management are so important to life on earth
  • How soils form, their functions and basics of soil degradation
  • Threats to and caring for: Soil water relations, soil fertility and soil biodiversity
  • Effects of and solutions for: Soil erosion, soil pollution and soil salinization
  • Socio-economic and policy aspects of sustainable soil management
  • How you can help protect this critical natural resource

Meet the instructors