NWO-Gravitation Program: AFSG microbiologists awarded

Gepubliceerd op
20 december 2013

Six research consortia in which prominent scientists from various Dutch universities work together are receiving a combined sum of 153 million euros for long-term and large-scale research.

These awards fall under the Gravitation programme of the Minister for Education, Culture and Science, Jet Bussemaker. With these grants, she is giving Dutch world-class scientists the opportunity to carry out innovative research that can bring about international breakthroughs.

One of the consortia awarded is 'The Soehngen Institute for anaerobic microbiology: Microbes for health and environment'. 13.9 million is awarded for this initiative for the period 2014-2018. When evaluated successfully another 8.9 million will be provided for years 2019-2023. AFSG microbiology professors Fons Stams and Willem de Vos are co-applicants in this initiative. A significant part of the award will be available for their research groups.

The principal applicant of the consortium is Prof. Mike Jetten (Radboud University Nijmegen).

Uitreiking zwaartekracht.jpg