Excellent accomplishments deserve extra attention and acknowledgment. Therefore, the University Fund Wageningen grants six types of awards yearly to those people who have achieved such excellence. Furthermore, these awards underline the good level of education and research held at Wageningen University & Research (WUR).

Thesis Award

The yearly Thesis Award is for WUR students who have written an excellent thesis or publication in the master phase of their study.

Teacher of the Year Award

The yearly Teacher of the Year Award is intended to stimulate high quality education at WUR. The money awarded to the winner and nominees will be used for education purposes.

Press Award

The Press Award is granted once every three years to the best popular scientific publication about one of the main WUR-topics. The award is extended alternately from the written press to radio/television/new media.

Outstanding Alumnus Award

The Outstanding Alumnus Award is granted once every three years to a WUR-alumnus or alumna who is a role model who is at the height of his or her career and who has shown an outstanding commitment to contribute to ‘Quality of Life’.

Research Award

The Research Award is granted from now on once every year to a WUR-researcher, younger than 40 years of age, who has published an outstanding and original scientific article in the calendar year preceding the ceremony.

Mansholt-Business Award for Sustainable Entrepreneurship

This award is granted once every three years to a successful entrepreneur who manages his or her company in an enthusiastic and sustainable manner.