Academic Year

This page gives you all the important data from current academic years

Academic Year 2019-2020 and 2020-2021

An academic year is divided into six educational periods. The 'Calendar academic year' contains more information about the academic year (e.g. exam and holiday weeks) and can be downloaded here:

Calendar academic year 2020-2021

Public Holidays 2019-2020
College week Day Date Holiday
Week 17 Wednesday 25 December 2019 First Christmas Day
Week 17 Thursday 26 December 2019 Second Christmas Day
Week 18 Wednesday 01 January 2020 New Years Day
Week 32 Friday 10 April 2020 Good Friday
Week 32 Sunday 12 April 2020 Easter Sunday
Week 33 Monday 13 April 2020 Easter Monday
Week 35 Monday 27 April 2020 Kings Day
Week 36 Tuesday 05 May 2020 Liberation Day
Week 36 Wednesday 06 May 2020 The morning after Liberation Day
Week 38 Thursday 21 May 2020 Ascencion Day
Week 39 Sunday 31 May 2020 Whit Sunday
Week 40 Monday 01 June 2020 Whit Monday
Public Holidays 2020-2021
Week 17 Friday 25 December 2020 First Christmas Day
Week 17 Saturday 26 December 2020 Second Christmas Day
Week 18 Friday 01 January 2021 New Years Day
Week 31 Friday 02 April 2021 Good Friday
Week 31 Sunday 04 April 2021 Easter Sunday
Week 32 Monday 05 April 2021 Easter Monday
Week 35 Tuesday 27 April 2021 Kings Day
Week 36 Wednesday 05 May 2021 Liberation Day
Week 36 Thursday 06 May 2021 The morning after Liberation Day
Week 37 Thursday 13 May 2021 Ascencion Day
Week 38 Sunday 23 May 2021 Whit Sunday
Week 39 Monday 24 May Whit Monday
Registration for courses 2019-2020
Period Start registration date Final registration date Courses with maximum
1 End June 2019 11 August 2019 04 August 2019
2 End August 2019 29 September 2019 22 September 2019
3 End October 2019 01 December 2019 24 November 2019
4 End November 2019 19 January 2020 12 January 2020
5 End January 2020 16 February 2020 09 February 2020
6 End March 2020 26 April 2020 19 April 2020

Attention: Registration is compulsory for all scheduled courses. First Year BSc students will be registered automaticaly for courses in period 1.

New MSc students: Contact your study-advisor to discuss your programme and different final registration regulations in the first period.

Registration for (resit) exams 2019-2020
Period Start registration date Final registration date
1 End June 2019 06 October 2019
2 End August 2019 01 December 2019
3* End October 2019 19 January 2020
4* End November 2019 01 March 2020
5 End January 2020 19 April 2020
6* End February 2020 14 June 2020
Resit exams February End October 2019 19 January 2020
Resit exams August End February 2020 19 July 2020

*In period 3, 4 and 6 exams are spread over the full period. However registration is still required. 

Attention: The dates mentioned above are all Sundays. The final dates when the Student Service Desk can help you with any registration problems is 2 days earlier on Friday.

Please note:

Due to the corona outbreak, all ceremonies are cancelled until August 1. Please check the website regularly for the latest updates.

Graduation 2019-2020

Master (MSc) & Bachelor (BSc): The university has ‘automatic graduation’. This means that when your last (sufficient) grade has been entered in the Student Information System (in your approved study contract), it will automatically be determined that you have passed the final examination in the programme. This will be approved 11 times a year by the examination committee.

Graduation Schedules 2019-2020: Graduation Schedule MSc 2019-2020 and Graduation Schedule BSc 2019-2020

The BSc ceremonies (Spring) will take place on:
- Social Sciences: Thursday, April 2, 2020.
- Technology and Nutrition: Wednesday, April 8, 2020.
- Life Sciences: Wednesday, April 1, 2020.
- Environmental Sciences: Tuesday, April 7, 2020.

The MSc Graduation Ceremonies are scheduled to take place in the Aula of Wageningen University, Generaal Foulkesweg 1, Wageningen.

The BSc Graduation Ceremonies are scheduled to take place in Orion, Bronlaan 1, Wageningen.